Thieved

© holly corfield carr

© holly corfield carr

The wonderful Kirsty Logan invited me to be her latest blog burglar as part of Thievery, a series in which writers share the stories behind their stories.  It’s a lovely dream of half-heard songs, re-read books and grainy photographs of childhood, riotgrrls and Rasputin.  Have a read.

So, I add to this my photograph of my mum and sister walking into the fog.  They look a bit casually dressed for the apocalypse.  It was only supposed to be a short walk.  My sister’s ankles are bare.

This is the photograph I took of the fog in 2010.  I add to this readings of watermelon snow, rakfisk recipes, Patsy Cline lyrics, a family trip to Bleik in 1999.  Somewhere in all of this, I find Fog, a short story of mine published in Ambit 209 in 2012.  Read my Thievery post here.

What do you think?  Does it help to know where I was when I started the story?  What does it mean to hold one fiction inside another (because who knows whether I was listening to Patsy Cline? whether I have found minced beef loose in the freezer drawer? whether I went to Norway? whether I ran away?  whether the weather? whether the hell-for-leather? whatever?).

Perhaps this is a defensive position to take but as I started to put together my thieved thoughts, I started to write another story.  The same story, I guess, but a different angle.  And I got to know my writing self a bit better, fictionalising her.  Maybe that’s what this is all about.

Thanks, thanks, thanks to Kirsty for giving me the opportunity to wander through the fog again.  I found more than I expected.

And if you can, have a read of Kirsty’s own thievings; her first collection The Rental Heart and Other Stories is out with Salt next month and this blog feels like a gorgeous bundle of secrets ahead of the publication day.

Leave a Reply

