Totem

toteminstall

© airspace gallery

I have been selected by AirSpace Gallery to compose a new work of fiction to sit alongside a major new installation by Corinne Felgate, TOTEM: Trajectories in Tragedy & Triumph, opening later this month.

The installation [above] responds to notions of power, success, failure and resurrection within the British ceramic industry.  Felgate has invited three artists – Florence PeakeCamilla Emson and Marcus Boyle – to collaboratively construct an array of floor-to-ceiling totemic stacks, built from biscuit and hand cast pieces found onsite at the former Spode works in Stoke-on-Trent.  The installation keeps a keen focus on their collaborative relationship, and collaboration’s role in Felgate’s own work.

My 15-part text was commissioned to specifically respond to their collaborative structure and will be revealed with the launch of the British Ceramics Biennial and TOTEM, which is a partner show at AirSpace Gallery.  I am excited to be a part of this, which adds a second and split voice to my presence on the Spode site as an EXPLORE artist.  In a way, the two works speak to each other as well as Felgate’s installation, as I test the process of writing, and in fact, reading, as a collaborative act.  The process has produced a strange and thrilling thing that I am really looking forward to sharing with you.

In the meantime, final preparations continue for the installation of my poetic sequence stoc at the Spode site next week.  If I tell you now that it’s one of the most ambitious projects I’ve ever taken on, I hope you might start to get as twitchy and heartened and excited as I am right now.  I’ll be back shortly with some preview images.  Until then, please bite nails and settle stomachs for me.

Leave a Reply

